Preface

This volume contains papers presented at the 13th International Conference on Informatics in Schools: Situation, Evolution, and Perspectives (ISSEP 2020). The conference was held at the Tallinn University, November 16–18, 2020. Due to COVID-19 related travelling restrictions for the majority of participants the conference had to be switched to partly online format.

ISSEP is a forum for researchers and practitioners in the area of Informatics education, in both primary and secondary schools. The conference provides an opportunity for educators and researchers to reflect upon the goals and objectives of this subject matter, its curricula, various teaching and learning paradigms and topics, as well as the connections to everyday life — including the various ways of developing Informatics Education in schools.

This conference also has a focus on teaching/learning materials, various forms of assessment, traditional and innovative educational research designs, the contribution of informatics to the preparation of individuals for the 21st century, motivating competitions, and projects and activities supporting informatics education in schools. The ISSEP series started in 2005 in Klagenfurt, with subsequent meetings held in Vilnius (2006), Torun (2008), Zurich (2010), Bratislava (2011), Oldenburg (2013), Istanbul (2014), Ljubljana (2015), Münster (2016), Helsinki (2017), St. Petersburg (2018), and Larnaca (2019). The 13th ISSEP conference was hosted by Tallinn University in Estonia.

The conference received 53 submissions. Each submission was reviewed by up to four Program Committee members who evaluated the quality, originality, and relevance to the conference of all the submissions. This volume contains selected 14 regular papers and 4 short papers.

We would like to thank all the authors who responded to the call for papers and all the members of the Program Committee.

Külli Kori Mart Laanpere November 2020

Organization

General chair

Mart Laanpere Tallinn University, Estonia

Program chair

Külli Kori Tallinn University, Estonia

Local Organizers

Maia Lust Tallinn University, Estonia Katrin Kuus Tallinn University, Estonia

Steering Committee

Erik Barendsen Radboud University and Open University, the Netherlands *Andreas Bollin* University of Klagenfurt, Austria *Valentina Dagiene* Vilnius University, Lithuania *Yasemin Gulbahar* Ankara University, Turkey *Juraj Hromkovič* ETH Zurich, Switzerland *Ivan Kalas* Comenius University, Slovakia *Sergei Pozdniakov* Saint Petersburg Electrotechnical University, Russia

Program Committee

Mikko Apiola University of Helsinki, Finland *Erik Barendsen* Radboud University and Open University, the Netherlands Andrej Brodnik University of Ljubljana, Slovenia *Špela Cerar* University of Ljubljana, Slovenia Valentina Dagiene Vilnius University, Lithuania Christian Datzko Wirtschaftsgymnasium und Wirtschaftsmittelschule Basel, Switzerland Vladimiras Dolgopolovas VU MIF, Lithuania Gerald Futschek Vienna University of Technology, Austria Juraj Hromkovič EHT Zurich, Switzerland Mile Jovanov Sts. Cyril and Methodius University, North Macedonia Kaido Kikkas Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia Kati Mäkitalo University of Oulu, Finland Dennis Komm ETH Zurich, Switzerland Külli Kori Tallinn University, Estonia Marge Kusmin Tallinn University, Estonia Mart Laanpere Tallinn University, Estonia Peter Larsson University of Turku, Finland Marina Lepp University of Tartu, Estonia Inggriani Liem Sekolah Teknik Elektro dan Informatika, Indonesia *Michael Lodi* University of Bologna, Itanly, & Inria, France Birgy Lorenz Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia Piret Luik University of Tartu, Estonia Maia Lust Tallinn University, Estonia Mattia Monga Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy Tauno Palts University of Tartu, Estonia Arnold Pears KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden Hans Põldoja Tallinn University, Estonia Sergei Pozdniakov Saint Petersburg Electrotechnical University, Russia Andrus Rinde Tallinn University, Estonia Ralf Romeike Freie Universität Berlin, Germany Joze Rugelj University of Ljubljana, Slovenia Giovanni Serafini EHT Zurich, Switzerland

Tomas ŠiaulysVilnius University, LithuaniaGabrielė StupurienėVilnius University, LithuaniaReelika SuvisteUniversity of Tartu, EstoniaMaciej M. SysloUMK Torun, PolandMichael WeigendUniversität Münster, Germany